Fan Mail!

Something interesting happened to me earlier this week!

Growing up, my father subscribed to Reader’s Digest, and I always looked forward to reading the lastest edition.  In particular, I enjoyed reading about relationships and family stories.  Especially if they were funny.  One author I enjoyed reading was John G. Hubbell who wrote about being a father of a large family (9 children!).   I happened to stumble upon his daughter’s blog “Casual Sundays with Mr Curry” where she talked about her father writing about her wedding day in his article “Marry My Daughter? Are you serious?” I made a comment on her blog telling her how I remembered that article and how much I enjoyed reading her father’s funny family stories.

A few days later, I received an email from John G. Hubbell himself! 

Dear Kathy: My daughter has shown me your comment on her blog, “June 26.” I have been retired a long time, and it’s really very nice to know that you remember my stories and took pleasure in reading them. Thanks so much for saying so.

The best to you,

John G. Hubbell

 I have never in my entire life written fan mail, let alone received a reply!  It made my day!

Yes, I tend to live a rather ‘boring’ life and little things like this thrill me.  I need to get out more…. 
 

Posted on Saturday, July 7th, 2007, in Fun. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

