Dear YEC Friend – #4 Genesis

Dear Friend,

Apparently, my previous letter upset you.  You asked, ‘If we don’t accept Genesis 1 at face value, then what is the point of Romans 1:20?’

You did not like the idea that saying that God created things with the appearance of evolution makes him a deceiver.  Well, Romans 1:20 says that we can understand God from the things that he has made. If God made the world appear to be 4 billion years old when it is not even 10 000 years old, how does that NOT make God a deceiver?

I have to ask, Do we have to accept Genesis 1 at face value?  Why Genesis 1 specifically and not some other portion of the Bible?

For example, the Creation account in Genesis 1 is different from Genesis 2.  I know some YEC advocates (Ham? Hovind?) teach that Genesis 2 is really Genesis 1, but in more detail.  All I can say to that is, “What kind of mental twists and turns do you have to do to get to that conclusion?” and/or “Don’t pee on my leg and tell me it’s raining!” Take your pick.

In Genesis 1, God created plants, then animals then Man (and Woman).

In Genesis 2, God created Man, then plants, then animals, then Woman.

There is NO way Genesis 2 is ‘merely Genesis 1 in more detail’; it is a completely different account.  Even the name of the deity is different!  It is “God” in Genesis 1, a Creator who is all-powerful and yet somewhat distant.  It is “the LORD God” in Genesis 2, a deity who interacts with His creation and can even feel threatened by them (Gen 3:22).

Who says that Genesis 1 has to be read and understood literally?  We don’t read every part of the Bible literally, so why is Genesis 1 singled out?

I won’t bore you with a list of websites that explore Genesis.  So, I’ll only provide one. Don’t let the length of it put you off.  I think it is well worth reading.

Blessings to you.

About yewnique

I am a Malaysian-born woman who is married to an Australian and now live in Melbourne, Australia. I am a mother to four children. I home school. I like reading, writing, and cooking -- not necessarily in that order. I care about grammar and spelling, but am nonchalant about the Oxford Comma. I try to follow Christ's teachings.

Posted on Tuesday, March 8th, 2011, in Creation Ministries International, Letters to my Young Earth Creationist Friend, Young Earth Creationism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

