Dear YEC Friend – #6 Litmus Test

Dear Friend,

When we first met, I told you that I am not a young-Earth Creationist.  Although you were a bit surprised, you assured me that it was not a problem; you told me that a belief in a young earth is not a salvation issue.  I thought that was that and that we would just agree to disagree.

So, I am confused why you keep pointing me to articles and newsletters from Creation Ministries International, the Australian ‘arm’ of Answers in Genesis.  And even more disturbed by the ‘Creation message’ that CMI espouses.

Now you have sent me another article from CMI, which you say is important because it is the ‘fulcrum’ of what we believe.  The very first paragraph already sends big alarm bells ringing!

In my article “An Evangelical ‘Litmus Test’” I talked about the watering down of the term “evangelical”. The “litmus test” I suggested as a mark of a true evangelical was an acceptance of a straight reading of Genesis 1–11 since an attack on Genesis 1–11 is basically an attack on the authority of the Bible, and hence God.

Does the author have the authority to speak for ALL evangelicals?

I have also read the newsletter you gave me.  One of the passages stood out to me:

“But the Bible’s message of salvation is inextricably intertwined with its history of the world.”

This leads me to believe that, for CMI (and its followers), a belief in a literal interpretation of the creation story is a salvation issue.

The feedback letter from the science student, Canadian Heather W. was depressing to read. She has been taught from young with CMI materials. She has been taught to adopt an arrogant attitude towards evolution. Notice her words:

“We are force fed evolution here every day. I see so many purposeless, confused, lost people with no ‘rudder’ to help them steer in the ‘wind’ of ignorant opinion...We aren’t just fighting for freedom, and a healthy society, but for the eternity of a truly lost generation.”

Really?  People who subscribe to the theory of evolution are ‘lost’ and have no rudder to help them steer?  Really??

Why do you read CMI articles? I mean, really – why? Do you find them edifying? Encouraging? Uplifting? What?

After reading the articles that you have forwarded to me, I can’t help but feel that, for CMI at least, a belief in young-Earth Creationism is of paramount importance.  And so, I feel I need to ask you again: Is a belief in young-Earth Creationism necessary for salvation?

Blessings to you.

Posted on Wednesday, March 9th, 2011, in Creation Ministries International, Letters to my Young Earth Creationist Friend, Young Earth Creationism. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

