No Way!

I’m trying to keep calm, but this might turn into a full-blown rant, so don’t say I didn’t warn you.  I made a brief mention of this in another post, but I think it deserves a post of its own.

When I buy homeschool curriculum, I like the freedom to choose what I want and to use the materials in the way that best suits my family’s needs.  The curriculum supplier should just take my order and payment and send me what I ordered.  If they provide support, great.  Otherwise, I should be free to use goods that I paid for in a way that I see fit.

Make sense, right?

Enter Advanced Training Institute.  In order to qualify to use their curriculum, one must attend some seminars: a Basic Seminar and an Advanced Seminar.  After that, one must fill in a four-page Application Form so that the ATI people can assess one’s suitability to use their very expensive and not complete curriculum.

The idea of having to jump through hoops just to use a homeschool curriculum is mind-blowing.  But, that Application Form really takes the cake!  I mean,  how impoverished must one’s soul be to be willing to submit to that level of control? What kind of organisation tells their potential customers how they must live their lives in order to be ‘acceptable’? I can think of a word, but it isn’t very charitable.

Perhaps someone might say that I need to attend those Seminars to fully understand the Application Form in context and where ATI is coming from.  My guess is, after a couple of brainwashing sessions, those interested in joining will be ready to sign anything this organisation says.

For what it’s worth, I am acquainted (not close friends) with some very lovely people who use this curriculum.  Every time they ask me to attend a Seminar, I decline.

A conversation between two women I know probably sums up my feelings on this.

Friend A: You know, those in ATI are really so godly.  It makes you want what they want.

Friend B: Yes, but surely godliness can be achieved without ATI.

Okay, rant over.

Posted on Monday, August 8th, 2011, in Fundamentalism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. That was very restrained of you Kathy :o)

    Like

  2. Oh my word. How RIDICULOUS is that?

    Thea

    Like

    • If you can believe it, that form is really only the ‘entry level’ of things – if you know what I mean. If you can pass that, then comes further indoctrination. I mean, training.

      Like

  3. ATI shouldn’t be tossed aside lightly.

    It should be thrown with great force.

    Like

  4. @ Anonymous:

    Ha! You got me!

    I couldn’t have said it better.

    Thanks for reading and commenting.

    Like

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

