The Truthiness of Things

Have you ever had anyone say to you, ‘I know what the “evidence” says, but I just can’t accept it because my gut tells me otherwise’?  I have.  A friend told me that that he knows that humans did not evolve because his gut tells him so and for him, that is enough.  No matter what the evidence says, he has to go with his gut.

This is an example of truthiness.

Truthiness defined:

Truthiness is a “truth” that a person claims to know intuitively “from the gut” in that it “feels right” without regard to evidence, logic, intellectual examination, or facts.

Young-Earth Creationism falls into this category.  Despite all the claims that Creationists make, the bottom line is, YECism is more based on truthiness than on truth.

I could go on, but I won’t.

 

 

Posted on Wednesday, August 17th, 2011, in Young Earth Creationism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’ve never seen truthiness defined before, but have certainly heard similar arguments from others when confronted with facts.

    I totally agree with your take on YECism here.

    Like

  2. Thanks for responding, Jamie! I first saw the word in Otter’s blog. And then, later, I came across Project Steve, a tongue-in-cheek parody put out by the National Center for Science Education that makes fun of those lists put out by YEC organisations of “Scientists who believe in a Young Earth”. It got me thinking that sometimes people believe things because it is ‘popular’ – Argumentum ad Populum.

    Anyway, one link led to another and I found myself reading about Truthiness, and I thought, “BINGO!”

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on A Yewnique Life and commented:

    Going through my old blogposts and this one caught my eye.

    Like

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

