Happy Birthday.

The Yewnique household now has two teenagers.  Although, I really do feel that adolescence starts earlier than thirteen.

From birth, she has been a can’t-wait-to-do-it-myself sort of person.

She is the girl who refused to go in the pram at fifteen months.  I could not even put her in because she spread her legs out.  ‘Fine,’ I said to her.  ‘If you won’t go in, you’ll have to walk.  I’m not going to carry you.’

‘Yes, Mummy.’  And she did.

She is the one who refused to wear a night nappy (that’s diaper for you Americans) at 18 months.  ‘Fine,’ I said to her.  ‘But if you need to use the toilet, you have to wake up and take yourself.’

‘Yes, mummy.’ Sure enough, in the middle of the night, I heard the sound of a bedroom door opening and little feet pattering to the toilet.  A flush, the tap (yes, she remembered to wash her hands!), and then back to her bedroom.

She is the one who, after 75 lessons of Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons, turned to me and said, ‘This is boring.  I want to read real books.’  So we moved on to other books.

Right now, she is working on a book – writing, not reading. If she could, she would happily spend the rest of her life reading and writing.

I hope it’ll happen for her.

Posted on Wednesday, November 30th, 2011, in Celebrations, Family, Life, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

