A First Time for Everything

Today, I answered the door to see two strangers on my front porch.  They were well-dressed and held literature in their hands.

Jehovah’s Witnesses, I thought.

Nope.

They were from the World Mission Society Church of God, and they were here to tell me that there is a God the Mother and she is here on earth in the form of a South Korean woman.  The two bringing me this wonderful piece of news are South Korean as well, judging from their appearance and accents.

Apparently, the Bible shows clearly that there is a God the Father and a God the Mother.  And this South Korean woman is God the Mother because she has fulfilled the prophecies.

That is all.

Posted on Monday, January 9th, 2012, in Bizarre. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. This made me laugh, Kathy. Were you able to keep a straight face? 🙂

    Like

  2. Jamie, yes, I kept a straight face. The young lady showed me a New International Version (see, they use ‘regular’ Bibles!) with important passages highlighted that show that there is a God the Mother.

    I can sort of see how those verses could be interpreted that way.

    Like

  3. I always find it amusing when one religious group looks at another and says “Oh no, *those* people are crazy!”

    Last week we got a notice from my daughter’s school that the mother of a first grade girl died of cancer. She’s 6. So of course what you hear from well-meaning, otherwise ordinary people who may display rational, logical thought in other areas of their life nod their head solemnly and say “All part of God’s plan.”

    Yes, forcing a five-six year old to watch their parent wither away and die leaving behind a single parent to raise a little girl who probably cries herself to sleep every night form missing her mommy sounds exactly like the plan one would expect from an all-powerful, unconditionally loving God who could have with no effort whatsoever prevented the mother from ever contracting the disease. That doesn’t sound crazy at all, no sir.

    Like

  4. You’re absolutely right, hktelemacher. One religious group’s beliefs would seem strange to another group. It was the first time I had even heard of this group that appeared on my doorstep. I didn’t want to say too much in my post or my response, as I am sure my beliefs would seem strange to them, too. Even if I (used to) read from the same Bible.

    I don’t know why bad things happen. I know people try to explain them (“All part of God’s plan” and other trite sayings), but those are NOT helpful at all – to anyone, except perhaps to the ones saying them.

    Like

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

