More Than One Moon

Astonomers have confirmed that there is more than one moon orbiting the earth.  Cool!

 

About yewnique

I am a Malaysian-born woman who is married to an Australian and now live in Melbourne, Australia. I am a mother to four children. I home school. I like reading, writing, and cooking -- not necessarily in that order. I care about grammar and spelling, but am nonchalant about the Oxford Comma. I try to follow Christ's teachings.

Posted on Thursday, January 12th, 2012, in News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Is the recent Nova series on the cosmos available to you by Internet, on TV or DVD?

    http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/physics/fabric-of-cosmos.html

    I have to say this was probably about the most awesome 4 hours of television I’ve ever watched. The visual presentation and comparisons to help give people a better understanding of the nature of our Universe is better than any other piece of science education I’ve seen aimed at non-scientists. I hope updated versions will be available that I can watch with my kids when they get to an age where they can grapple with that level of science.

    Also, have you been following the experiment they are running on the composition of the moon based on I think it is gravitational analysis? Trying to determine whether the moon originated as a single body or is the combination of a collision of two large celestial bodies. The critical juncture was around New Year’s when when the two probes being used in the experiment were successfully guided into orbit. Over the next two years we are going to find out some awesome things about our moon from this work.

    Like

  2. I can’t view the videos on pbs ‘due to restrictions etc, etc’ but I think I found them on YouTube. Hooray for YouTube!

    For those who also can’t access pbs and would like to watch:

    Fabric: What is Space? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wy9gXKwRpXc&feature=related
    Fabric: The Illusion of Time http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ghHtsy7mta8
    Fabric: Quantum Leap http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NCpUPyV28J4&feature=related
    Fabric: Universe or Multi-universe http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VEui9GXqH_Q&feature=related

    Also, I haven’t been following the experiments that you mention.

    Like

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

