‘Do you believe in the Bible?’

When fidelity to a particular interpretation of the Bible is of paramount importance, we have a problem.

When organisations  promote a particular ideology with a veneer of ‘answering to a higher call’, or ‘rising from mediocrity’ and people defend those ideas and the organisation to death, we have a cult.

Don’t get me wrong.

You want to strive for better things?  Go for it!

You want to live a life that is more pleasing to God?  Godspeed and more power to you!

In my attempts to point out the various factual errors found in the Jonathan Park Audio Adventure series, I was asked the following by various people (and if they didn’t outright ask it I have my suspicions they thought it):

Do you believe in the Bible?

What they really mean when they ask that is Do I read and interpret the Bible the same way they do.

What, I ask, does that question have anything to do with factual errors in the programs?

Oh, it matters a great deal, they assure me.  Either I believe what the Bible says, or I don’t.

Does the Bible have anything to say about the height of Ayers Rock? I keep coming back to this, because no one seems to acknowledge this blatant error.  It’s all about whether or not I ‘believe in the Bible’, a criteria, by the way, that was never required by Jesus to be His disciple.

This is worse than the Twilight Zone.

Link

Posted on Wednesday, March 21st, 2012, in Bible, Creation vs Evolution, Jonathan Park, Jonathan Park Reviews, Vision Forum, Young Earth Creationism. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. “When fidelity to a particular interpretation of the Bible is of paramount importance, we have a problem.”

    Aren’t you then in a situation then that amounts only to subjectivity?

    Like

  2. What I was thinking of in particular when I wrote that poorly-phrased sentence was the insistence by the YEC camp that Genesis 1-11 MUST be read as straight, historical fact. After I wrote it, I had the feeling that someone would pick it up and ask me about it, but decided to let it stand as it is.

    I realise there are other verses where one group would say prove xyz or what have you, eg, Transubstantiation, the papacy, Traditions, speaking in tongues as evidence of the Holy Spirit, to name but a few.

    I have mentioned in an earlier comment (on a different thread) that I don’t think I believe in Biblical Inerrancy.

    So, in answer to your question: I’m still working through that, hktelemacher. (Lame, I know.)

    Like

  3. A most interesting commentary. I believe in the Bible, but I don’t even trust my own interpretation.

    But I have discovered a few wildly interesting things hidden in Genesis. For instance, I’ve discovered a timeline compatible with those of science. Perhaps the biggest initial clue is to look at Genesis 5:2.

    One thing that the YEC crowd seems to forget is that God created this universe and all its laws; and that science has a pretty good bead on reality. Science isn’t perfect, but they’re not far off. Just look at the technology we have. Scientists sometimes lose their humility, but the YEC crowd has done that and far more. One might even go so far as to say that they’ve gotten arrogant and lazy. There are many answers in the Bible that can only be found with humility and hard work, and they’ve stopped looking.

    Science says that humanity is at least (possibly far more than) 200,000 years old. Thirty years ago, this figure was closer to 50,000 years old. So, the Ussher interpretation of Genesis is way off. If Genesis has a timeline of reality, then Methuselah’s age is too small!

    Genesis 5:2 gives the needed clue to resolve this.

    The point is that discovery of new things can only happen when we take the “know-it-all” blinders off and look with humble eyes. That’s what science does when it makes discoveries.

    I have more about this in development, soon to be published at http://lone77star.hubpages.com. It’ll be there in the next few days or so. I would love to get your feedback. It’ll be under the title: Genesis Bible Commentary (series overview).

    Like

  4. I think YECs would deny that they have forgotten that God created this universe and all its laws. However, they argue that what we observe MUST be confirmed by a straight, plain reading of the Bible. Anything that even HINTS of an old earth, or involved evolution IN ANY WAY must be discarded.

    FWIW, I am not a Scientist; I have no qualifications in Science to speak of. I am ‘just’ a layperson. That said, my layperson self believes that the BIble is not a Science textbook and that we cannot use the Bible to make scientific discoveries.

    Thanks for reading and commenting, Rod. I look forward to what you have to say on your site.

    Like

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

