Four Score and Seven Years Ago…

 

Ummm…even my non-American children know the answer to this!

I’ve got that funny feeling again…

 

About yewnique

I am a Malaysian-born woman who is married to an Australian and now live in Melbourne, Australia. I am a mother to four children. I home school. I like reading, writing, and cooking -- not necessarily in that order. I care about grammar and spelling, but am nonchalant about the Oxford Comma. I try to follow Christ's teachings.

Posted on Friday, March 30th, 2012, in History, Humour and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Don’t be mad, but I just can’t watch it.

    I don’t know how much you follow the gay marriage debate raging across the states in the U.S., but the National Organization for Marriage (opposed to gay marriage) finally had to disclose (as they should have done originally pursuant to applicable law) documents associated with some of their political activities, and what fell out of the basket is beyond even Kirk:

    http://zinniajones.com/blog/2012/03/secret-nom-documents-reveal-disgraceful-racist-anti-family-strategy/

    From the National Organization for Marriage Board Update 2008-2009:
    “The strategic goal of this project is to drive a wedge between gays and blacks – two key Democratic constituencies.”

    “Consider pushing a marriage amendment in Washington D.C.; find attractive young black Democrats to challenge white gay marriage advocates electorally.”

    Like

  2. You’re free to read my blog as much or as little as you please. You don’t have to apologise for anything. 🙂

    It’s only 36 seconds.

    I haven’t been following too much about the gay marriage debate too closely. Once in a while, someone will mention something on a forum that I’m a member of, but again, I’ll admit not opening those threads and/or reading the posts too closely.

    I suppose I should pay a bit more attention because Australia is also in the midst of something similar: Should gays be allowed to marry? My church has put up a petition of sorts in the foyer. There has been NO mention of it (as far as I am aware) from the pulput or anything like that. People are free to sign the petition (or not) as their conscience dictates. Very few people have signed, the last I checked.

    I’m almost afraid to open the link you’ve provided…

    Like

  3. Ok, I’ve read the link and I’m appalled that something like that was ‘allowed’ to happen and am glad that the NOM has been exposed. 😦

    Like

  4. “I’m almost afraid to open the link you’ve provided…”

    I was going to say I promise it isn’t like the last one I provided 🙂 I mean, I didn’t look through the whole blog but I’m assuming that generally speaking there is more clothing and less not-clothing.

    “You’re free to read my blog as much or as little as you please. You don’t have to apologise for anything.”

    It was by way of saying I can’t watch it because it will be impossible to scrub the resulting stupid from my brain. I ended up watching it, and learned that prior-me had been correct.

    There are some days I wish I could understand what is going on inside his brain, and the brains of people like him. Not necessarily on this, which just shows him to be uneducated generally, but consider the banana video. Surely at some point he has or will be confronted with the knowledge that the banana used in this video is essentially man made . . . the result of banana domestication. The equivalent of pointing at a Dalmatian and thanking God for its spots.

    How does that information get digested? Is it that he is so fundamentally uneducated he doesn’t understand what is being said to him? Does he forget it was spoken to him? Does his brain reject that it is an actual fact and believe that whoever said it made it up regardless of source or verification? Does it in some way we can’t see affect how he looks at facts, or history?

    I’d have the same question for people who insist that God speaks to them. Not like figuratively or metaphorically through “signs” or “fate”, but that God actually speaks. To them. Undiagnosed schizophrenia? A mere trick of the mind? Desire to fit in to a social circle where others claim similar experiences? I saw a study I want to say a couple of years ago now that says that for people who in some way believe they can understand God’s intent or position (via Bible study, prayer, whatever), the majority of the time “God” validates their previously-determined conclusion. Ah, I found a link:

    http://scienceblogs.com/notrocketscience/2009/11/creating_god_in_ones_own_image.php

    Anyway I don’t know how Kirk Cameron got me off on this tangent except to say that however he is processing information it is something I do not understand.

    Like

  5. “I ended up watching it, and learned that prior-me had been correct.”

    It’s like train wreck. ‘I know I shouldn’t, but I can’t help myself…’

    “There are some days I wish I could understand what is going on inside his brain, and the brains of people like him.

    How does that information get digested? Is it that he is so fundamentally uneducated he doesn’t understand what is being said to him? Does he forget it was spoken to him? Does his brain reject that it is an actual fact and believe that whoever said it made it up regardless of source or verification? Does it in some way we can’t see affect how he looks at facts, or history?”

    While I was doing reasearch when I was writing the Jonathan Park reviews, I came across the website of a YEC organisation, Institute for Creation Research (ICR). On their website, ICR states the tenets of Biblical Creationism and Creation Science. One of the tenets states that the Creation story in the Bible is an historical narrative of actual events. Therefore, any theory of origins that involve evolution in any way MUST be false. This really turned the lightbulb on for me, with regards to understanding the YEC mindset.

    It really doesn’t matter what evidence is out there. If it doesn’t fit their ‘wordlview’ it must be wrong. Of course, they’d be quick to do one of the following:

    1) Deny the accusation and say that YECs look at the same evidence – they just interpret it differently.

    2) Deny the accusation and say that Creation Science theories go through the same processes of scrutiny and peer reviews.

    3) Accept the charge but then say that ‘Evolutionists’ do the same, ie anything that doesn’t fit an ‘evolutionary’ worldview is discarded.

    Another tenet mentioned is that teleological arguments are perfectly valid in Creation Science.

    “I’d have the same question for people who insist that God speaks to them.”

    I have never heard God speak to me in an audible way.

    As for other people hearing God and that ‘god’ being just a confirmation of what they already knew or felt or whatever, I am not so quick to categorically affirm or deny. I agree that it most likely is the case sometimes (or even, most of the time), but I am not ready to scoff at the phenomena as a whole.

    Like

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

