The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

When I saw who is in this movie – Dame Maggie Smith and Dame Judi Dench, in particular – I knew I had to see it.

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel tells the story of seven Britons in their retirement years who, for various reasons, go to India and stay at the titular hotel only to discover that the it is not quite what was described in the brochure.  Each must cope with the situation as best as he/she can with interesting and surprising results. Meanwhile, the hotel owner also has problems – besides the state of the hotel….

This movie was beautifully told and wonderfully acted by a stellar ensemble cast. Although it could be argued that parts of it were somewhat predictable, it still has the audience cheering the characters on, celebrating their successes and groaning at their shortcomings.

Considering the main cast of actors are all in their golden years and that the movie is about a group of retirees, I would imagine that this movie would appeal most to a more senior age bracket. Although I am hardly in that age group (yet 😉 ), I nevertheless enjoyed it very much.

Recommended.

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel on wikipedia.  (Contains spoilers.  Read with discretion.)

Posted on Saturday, April 7th, 2012, in Movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This movies sounds interesting. I just found Dame (didn’t know she had a fancy title til today) Maggie Smith recently. I really liked her in the new Nanny McPhee movie. She seems very personable.
    I’m sure not elderly yet, either, but since I usually watch kids movies, it would be just switching from way younger characters to way older! 😀

    Like

  2. I feel I should warn you: older characters have situations that younger characters do not. (You might want to read the plot summary on wikipedia to get a feel.)

    Like

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

