In a Funk and Can’t Find My Groove

At the beginning of this year, we decided on a six-weeks-on, one-week-off routine.  This is what we did last year, and it worked for the most part.

So far this year, we’ve had:

A six-week block of work and One week off.
A four-week block of work and Two weeks off (this coincided with the school term holidays and Easter, and the older two had a camp, and I just thought ‘hang it – let’s just take two weeks off!)
A four-week block of work and One week off.  (Those four weeks felt really felt long and tiring.)

If you’re counting, we’ve had fourteen weeks of school, and it looks like we’re going to do another four-week block to bring us up to 18 weeks of school done. Maybe after that, we’ll get back into six-on, one-off again.

Home schooling is, simply put, not as enjoyable this year.  Some parts are great, but other parts just plain suck.

Oldest is most probably doing his last year of home school.  Part of me will be glad to send him off and part of me is worried that I have not adequately prepared him.  Deep down, I believe he will be fine – he just needs to be accountable to someone other than ‘just Mum’.

I’m this close to letting Miss 13 have the year off!  Yes, truly! She’s a year ahead in most things, but seems to have lost the joy in learning.  This is one reason why we’ve been taking more breaks than usual.  Guess she’s also in a funk and can’t find her groove. Did I mention that she’s 13?

Younger two are working well.

I slump into a deeper funk when I read status updates  on FB. My US friends report that their children are graduating from high school/university.  My other friends update their statuses with reports on how obedient their children are, how clean and tidy their houses are and how thankful they are for true godliness reigning in their homes. Me, I’m not so ‘out there’ with my praises.  Put it down to my upbringing, or my naturally melancholy personality.

What kind of person feels worse when reading other people’s good news?

Posted on Sunday, May 20th, 2012, in Home Schooling, Life, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I am in a funk, of sorts, too. Youngest will be going to charter school fir high school and she and i are both happy about it. (Typing on virtual keyboard right now)
    As for glowing fb updates, i try to read those as something the person needed to post because it wasnt the norm for them either…si they were sharing the bliss with people who would understand how fleeting thos perfect blips in time can be.
    I hope you find a groove again. 🙂

    Like

  2. Thanks, Robin!

    I hope I can find a groove again, too. I find it interesting that you said ‘a groove’ and not ‘your groove’. I’m kinda feeling that I have to find a different kind of ‘happy place’ from the one I used to have.

    Like

  3. “My other friends update their statuses with reports on how obedient their children are, how clean and tidy their houses are and how thankful they are for true godliness reigning in their homes.”

    Take some solace in that these are carefully manicured facades made of pure bullshit. That’s what Facebook is for, after all . . . it’s the new suburbs.

    Like

  4. “…carefully manicured facades made of pure bullshit…'”

    hktelemacher, I’m glad I wasn’t drinking anything, otherwise my screen would have been covered. LOL!

    Well, at least one FB person said something about being thankful for the peace and quiet now that their children were in bed.

    Like

  5. That is perfectly normal. Besides, who sings praises for themselves?? That’s just plain weird.

    Like

  6. My house is not clean and my children are not cooperative and at least now I have an excuse for the mess because I have Lyme disease and no energy.

    Does schadenfreude help?

    Like

  7. No schadenfreude allowed! I’m sorry things are tough. Hugs.

    Like

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

