About Teaching

In my previous post about home schooling, hktelemacher made a comment and, at the end, a worthy suggestion:

I think there could be a more nuanced answer here, acknowledging the large amounts of school and ongoing education that professional teachers must master to be proficient at their craft while also highlighting the efforts you have made to replicate effective teaching methods and maybe what home schooling resources are available for those purposes.

Here is my attempt at fleshing out my answer.

I think teachers have one of the hardest jobs in the world. They study long and hard to get a teacher’s qualification, only to end up at a job that is not as financially rewarding as other professions. There is sometimes enormous pressure from various sectors to produce results with teachers often being the first to be blamed if/when those results don’t meet expectations.

I agree that teachers have to go through rigorous training in order to be certified to teach other people’s children. Furthermore, there is continual pressure to stay up-to-date with new teaching methods, changes in curriculum, and just being in tune with changing trends and fashions in order to be a relevant teacher.  Many dedicated teachers take their job very seriously and I have great respect for them.

I believe that most parents who choose to home school do so because they believe that they are the best teacher for their child and/or because of their child’s particular bent or learning style, that a traditional school setting is not going to work. And so these parents look for a curriculum that will suit their child and/or their family’s needs.

As I was starting out my home schooling journey eleven years ago, I came across an idea from a home school curriculum supplier that stood out to me.  It said that home schooling is not a one-size-fits-all thing. What works for one child may not work for another child in the same family and that it may not even suit the same child at another stage in his/her life.  It was good to read this – and I regularly bring this to mind – because it reminds me to periodically assess where we are in our home schooling journey.  Is what we are doing right for this particular child at this particular time?  Can/should we do anything different?

Another thing that helps me tremendously in my vocation is getting involved with other home schooling parents. I get together once a month with others and hear suggestions on books or resources which they have found helpful, ideas for excursions, and even tips on how to juggle home schooling, housekeeping and raising children while keeping sane.  The older mums share about what worked for them, and the younger mums get encouragement from that. I’m in the middle, though probably leaning towards the ‘older’ end of the spectrum now.  😉

More to come…

About yewnique

I am a Malaysian-born woman who is married to an Australian and now live in Melbourne, Australia. I am a mother to four children. I home school. I like reading, writing, and cooking -- not necessarily in that order. I care about grammar and spelling, but am nonchalant about the Oxford Comma. I try to follow Christ's teachings.

Posted on Wednesday, May 23rd, 2012, in Education, Home Schooling. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

