This Is What They Call an Education

Wooden chairs scrape the floor
as students rise to greet the teacher.
Fifty students to teach
in thirty-five minutes.
Fifty minds to fill
with facts and questions
that will be on the Test.
Open the textbooks,
listen up and copy down what I say.
Hurry, hurry, before the bell rings
and the next teacher comes.

Lather, rinse, repeat.

About yewnique

I am a Malaysian-born woman who is married to an Australian and now live in Melbourne, Australia. I am a mother to four children. I home school. I like reading, writing, and cooking -- not necessarily in that order. I care about grammar and spelling, but am nonchalant about the Oxford Comma. I try to follow Christ's teachings.

Posted on Monday, June 11th, 2012, in Education, Poetry, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

