Ondeh-ondeh

A Malaysian treat.

Dough:
1/2 cup glutinous rice flour
100 ml water OR coconut milk
a few drops of Pandan Essence
a few drops of green food colouring

Knead glutinous rice flour with water (or coconut milk) until a ball gathers and the dough is slightly moist. If the dough is dry add a teaspoon of water or coconut milk and knead until incorporated. Plastic wrap immediately to keep moist.

Filling:
3 tbps palm sugar (brown sugar is also okay)
3 tbps white sugar
3 tbps water
1 cup of desiccated coconut
pinch of salt

In a saucepan, dissolve sugars and water. Pour in desiccated coconut and salt and stir until the sugar mixture is well absorbed.

Coating:
Desiccated coconut and pinch of salt

To make ondeh-ondeh balls:
Pinch off a small portion of the dough. Roll around in your hands and then flatten. Place stuffing into the centre and gather dough around so the stuffing is covered. Pinch away any extra dough. Roll in palm of hands till you form a perfect ball.

Into a medium to large pot of boiling water, drop the balls in. Do it in small batches at a time – 5-6 is ideal. Balls will float to the surface when cooked. Scoop out using a slotted spoon and roll them around in the coating.

Leave to cool completely and then serve.

About yewnique

I am a Malaysian-born woman who is married to an Australian and now live in Melbourne, Australia. I am a mother to four children. I home school. I like reading, writing, and cooking -- not necessarily in that order. I care about grammar and spelling, but am nonchalant about the Oxford Comma. I try to follow Christ's teachings.

Posted on Tuesday, June 19th, 2012, in Cooking, Food, Malaysia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. We have the same thing in Indonesia too, but it called kelepon. Onde-onde also made from glutinous rice flour but deep fried with mung bean filling.
    Nice blog you have here 🙂

    Like

  2. Terima kasih for the kind comments, Ridha!

    Like

  3. Kathy! I was reading some entries in Cheng Mei’s blog and remembered that you have one going too. I’m not good about reading much online but I’ve loving the recipes you (and CM) have posted. Ondeh-ondeh are my favourite ‘kueh’. Have to attempt this to impress/terrify my local friends. Haha!

    Like

  4. Paul, thanks for visiting and leaving a comment. I find making kueh very fiddly and time-consuming, actually.

    My favourite kueh would be kuih ketayap (the green crepes with coconut in them). I tried making them but they didn’t turn out, otherwise I would have blogged about it.

    Like I said, very fiddly and time-consuming.

    Like

  5. Yeah, I rather guessed kuih would be quite fiddly (can you believe I’d forgotten how to spell ‘kuih’? tsk tsk). Maybe this will be something I try when I’m snowed in during a blizzard. Ha!

    Like

  6. “Kueh” is the old Malay spelling. I think it is still acceptable to use. As you can see, I used both in my response to you above!

    Like

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

