School 2013

It’s January and in the Yewnique household it means the start of a new school year!  We’ve had a very long break (since mid-November!) and so it is time to start up again.

This is my first year in over a decade not ordering any books from our homeschool curriculum supplier, Sonlight Curriculum.  I always knew this would happen someday, but it is still a little bit surreal.

I am ‘releasing’ the older two into a state school.  The school in question is what I call an alternative-type school.  The students go to the school one day a week where they receive their lessons and homework assignments.  During the rest of the week, they are expected to manage their time and get the work done.  About half the students who attend the school have been home-schooled and the other half are those for whom the typical school system was not a good fit.  I think this will be a good transition for my older two as they enter the school system. It follows the state-school term dates, and therefore, Mast 16 and Miss 14 are still on holidays until the end of January!

This year, Miss 6 will be studying Introduction to World History (Part 1) and Master10 will be doing World History In Depth (Part 1).  I will once again try a six-weeks on, one-week off schedule.

Schedules for the first six weeks have been planned and the first fortnight’s has been printed. Language arts and Science worksheets, printed.

About yewnique

I am a Malaysian-born woman who is married to an Australian and now live in Melbourne, Australia. I am a mother to four children. I home school. I like reading, writing, and cooking -- not necessarily in that order. I care about grammar and spelling, but am nonchalant about the Oxford Comma. I try to follow Christ's teachings.

Posted on Sunday, January 6th, 2013, in Education, Home Schooling, Life. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

