Bak Kut Teh

This Chinese Malaysian dish has now become a favourite in the Yewnique household and a Sunday evening meal tradition.

I used to buy this brand:

Klang Bak Kut Teh(Klang is a city in Malaysia, often considered the Home of Bak Kut Teh)

Klang Bak Kut Teh
(Klang is a city in Malaysia, often considered the Home of Bak Kut Teh)

 

However, there was a discussion on preferred brands on a Facebook group and some of the members mentioned this brand:

With a name like A1, it's gotta be good, right?

With a name like A1, it’s gotta be good, right?

Slightly more expensive, but it can serve a larger number of people, so it’s probably better value for money.

2kg of pork belly cut into big pieces.  Yes, that's fat you see there.  I did cut off the skin.  As much of it as I could, anyway.

2kg of pork belly cut into big pieces. Yes, that’s fat you see there. I did cut off the skin. As much of it as I could, anyway.

The recipe calls for EIGHT bulbs of garlic.  (The Klang one only requires 3-4.)

The recipe calls for EIGHT bulbs of garlic. (The Klang one only requires 3-4.)

You will also need dark soy sauce, light soy sauce and salt.

Just follow the instructions on the packet.  I will admit to guesstimating the sauce amounts (I didn’t measure it out exactly) and may have been on the generous side.

Finished Product

Finished Product

The whole family pronounced it very good and said they liked it better than the Klang one.

 

 

 

 

About yewnique

I am a Malaysian-born woman who is married to an Australian and now live in Melbourne, Australia. I am a mother to four children. I home school. I like reading, writing, and cooking -- not necessarily in that order. I care about grammar and spelling, but am nonchalant about the Oxford Comma. I try to follow Christ's teachings.

Posted on Sunday, January 27th, 2013, in Cooking, Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

