Of Webs and Videos

We’ve just finished Week 4 of our 2013 homeschooling year.  (I like to start earlier than the schools just to get a feel of how busy things are going to be before all the after-school activities start up.)

Miss 6 and I finished E. B. White’s classic Charlotte’s Web today. When we started the book, I promised her that we would watch the movie when we finished reading it. I kept my promise and we sat down to watch it.  All the children wanted to watch it.  Yes, even the 16yo.

Our copy of the movie is on videotape.  Remember them?

Remember to rewind. No, you can't  have Subtitles for the Hearing Impaired. No, there is no Scene Selection  or any of that Extra Stuff..

Remember to rewind. No, you can’t have Subtitles for the Hearing Impaired. No, there is no Scene Selection or any of that Extra Stuff.

 

When I told Miss Six to get the video out, she asked, ‘What’s a video?’

The older three, who have all watched this particular copy when they did the book, were a bit stunned.  Surely she knows what a video is?? I’m not sure whether she was having a blank moment or what.  I’m quite certain she has watched other things on video.

Then a thought struck me.  When I was her age, I didn’t know what videos were either! I am almost tempted to say that VHS videos weren’t even invented yet when I was born, but I did a check and see that they were invented the year I was born.  But it is absolutely true that I did not know what videos were when I was six.

And now, for my six-year-old, they are as good as obsolete.

She was a bit put out that the movie didn’t show everything in the book – ‘They left out Dr Dorian!’ – and had to learn that sometimes movie makers do that.

Posted on Friday, February 1st, 2013, in Books, Family, Life, Movies, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

