Evangelical Homeschoolers Embrace Evolution

Old Earth, Young Minds: Evangelical Homeschoolers Embrace Evolution

It’s no secret that the majority of homeschooled children in America belong to evangelical Christian families. What’s less known is that a growing number of their parents are dismayed by these textbooks.

Take Erinn Cameron Warton, an evangelical Christian who homeschools her children. Warton, a scientist, says she was horrified when she opened a homeschool science textbook and found a picture of Adam and Eve putting a saddle on a dinosaur. “I nearly choked,” says the mother of three. “When researching homeschooling curricula, I found that the majority of Christian homeschool textbooks are written from this ridiculous perspective. Once I saw this, I vowed never to use them.” Instead, Warton has pulled together a curriculum inspired partly by homeschool pioneer Susan Wise Bauer and partly by the Waldorf holistic educational movement.

I haven’t come across any science textbook with a picture of Adam and Eve riding a dinosaur, but if I did, I’d probably be annoyed and frustrated, too.

I will say that Warton’s experience is not unique.  It is nearly impossible to find a Christian home school science book from a mainstream perspective. Almost all of them pride themselves on presenting things from a biblical, ie young-Earth Creationism, worldview.

For many evangelical families, the rationale for homeschooling has nothing to do with a belief in Young Earth Creationism or a rejection of evolutionary theory.

I really hope this is true.  From my personal experience, it doesn’t seem to be.  Many a parent have voiced their concern about the teaching of evolution in schools and how they don’t want their children to be exposed to that.

I hope I will live to see the day when YECism will be relegated to the pages of History, in much the same way that belief in a Flat Earth or Geocentrism is.  And I also hope that the fallout will not be too devastating. The tunnel still seems long and dark, but one can hope.

About yewnique

I am a Malaysian-born woman who is married to an Australian and now live in Melbourne, Australia. I am a mother to four children. I home school. I like reading, writing, and cooking -- not necessarily in that order. I care about grammar and spelling, but am nonchalant about the Oxford Comma. I try to follow Christ's teachings.

Posted on Tuesday, March 12th, 2013, in Bible, Christian Living, Church, Creation vs Evolution, Education, Evolution, Fundamentalism, Home Schooling, News, Old Earth Creationism, Religion, Science, Theistic Evolution, Young Earth Creationism. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

