Movie Review: Quartet

What drew me: Dame Maggie Smith and Dustin Hoffman (as director).

I don’t really like Billy Connolly.  I’ll admit I haven’t seen many movies with him in it, but it seems to me, he seems to play the same sort of character quite often – himself.  And, this is very petty of me, I find it hard to understand his accent.

Pauline Collins’ portrayal of Cissy, who seems to be in the first stages of dementia, was a challenging one and I am not sure she quite managed to find the right balance.

Dame Maggie Smith and Tom Courtenay’s characters could have been better developed.

In the end,  I think this film would appeal more to an older age bracket to mine.  Mr Yewnique and I were easily the youngest people in the audience.  (It was a Monday and most people our age would be working at that time.)  The other people in the audience were seniors and they laughed out loud many times during the movie.  I didn’t laugh at all, although one scene made me tear up a bit.

A so-so movie.  I don’t regret watching it, but I do not anticipate watching it again, even when I reach ‘that age’.

Posted on Tuesday, March 19th, 2013, in Movies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

