Movie Review: Silver Linings Playbook

We very, very seldom go to the movies, so two movies (not counting the YouTube one) in eight days is a LOT.  I received two Gold Class movie passes for my 40th which expire at the end of the month.  Just to give you an idea of what I mean when I say we seldom go to the movies, I turned 40 in 2011, so I’ve had these movie passes waiting on my refrigerator door for over a year.

Silver Linings Playbook was what we opted for since I didn’t want to see blood and explosions (A Good Day to Die Hard), a comic-book hero (Iron Man 3), nor fantasy (OZ: the Great and Powerful).  

I briefly skimmed the plot summary on wikipedia, but still was unprepared for the, um, I guess ‘rawness’ of it.  There is mental illness, domestic violence, swearing, marital unfaithfulness, racism, more violence, more swearing, yelling and screaming and talking over everybody else and on and on.  It feels messy.  Life is messy.  But you play the best with the hand you’ve been dealt and along the way you find family and friendship and beauty and love.

A fine film for those who are prepared to look beyond the surface.

 

 

About yewnique

I am a Malaysian-born woman who is married to an Australian and now live in Melbourne, Australia. I am a mother to four children. I home school. I like reading, writing, and cooking -- not necessarily in that order. I care about grammar and spelling, but am nonchalant about the Oxford Comma. I try to follow Christ's teachings.

Posted on Tuesday, March 26th, 2013, in Movies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

