Grammar Geeks Anonymous

We were in the car listening to the radio when Bachelor Girl’s Treat Me Good came on.

Master 11 was groaning away in the back seat.

‘What’s wrong?’ I asked.

‘The song!’ he exclaimed. ‘It should be “treat me well“!’

Posted on Friday, July 26th, 2013, in Grammar, Home Schooling, Humour, Language. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Thought you might enjoy this one:

    Like

  2. Thanks for that. I’m not really into gaming or comic books. (Are you?) I did recognise Adam Savage of Mythbusters, though.

    Like

  3. I recognized Will Wheaton. And the video, although having a lot of women and girls that are into gaming and comic books, was definitely not relegated to that. There were dungeons and dragons geeks, science fiction geeks of all types (Star Wars, Star Trek, Dr. Who, Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, etc.), science geeks (a scientist, a programmer who writes code for particle accelerators, and a girl who aspires to be an astronaut, the woman who founded the App Camp for Girls, and the girl who loves bugs!), an author, fantasy geeks, just among the ones that identify what type of geeks they are. It’s a great message.

    I’m a computer geek, which includes both gaming (I’m playing Star Wars: The Old Republic, Skyrim, and Dark Souls at the moment), and hardware (buying computer parts to assemble my own box), and I work for IBM (in legal, but it still helps being a geek). I like comic books and used to collect but not quite so much anymore, although I *did* just get my daughter hooked on the new X-Men comic run that features an all-women team (it’s not that hard in the X-Universe, there are so many strong women characters to choose from), and I expose them to as much of my inner geek as I can. I’m also a science fiction and fantasy reader, my favorite authors are Isaac Asimov, Douglas Adams, and Neil Gaiman, among about a dozen others. I love Farscape (basically everything Jim Henson-related) and Star Wars and Star Trek and all kinds of science fiction and fantasy movies and TV shows.

    As you can probably tell, being a geek is a fairly core component of who I am.

    True story, science fiction really introduced me to the idea that the world might not be what my parents told me it was. Not that they were terrible people or anything, they were great parents to have as a kid, but just as part of my growing up and expanding my mind. I have this old, tattered book of Asimov short stories from way back then . . . my all-time favorite is “The Last Question” which is actually now available online here: http://filer.case.edu/dts8/thelastq.htm

    TMI, I know, but you caught me in a sharing mood 🙂

    Like

  4. Thanks for sharing that! 🙂

    Mr Yewnique likes Asimov and Adams too. He also likes Terry Pratchett. I’m guessing Pratchett would be on your list, too?

    Like

  5. Of course 🙂

    Like

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

