Around the World with the Metric System

Countries that do NOT use the metric system.
Liberia and Myanmar are in VERY good company, it would seem!

 

 

Although the eastern-most tip of Australia and New Zealand and several other islands in the Pacific Ocean are missing from the map, I am quite confident they all (with the exception of Hawaii) use the metric system.

Come on!  Get with the program!  It’s really not that hard to grasp! As Mr Yewnique says, ‘Even the country which came up with it no longer uses it officially.’

All I know of the Imperial System:

  • 12 inches = 1 foot
  •  3 ft. =  1 yd.
  • 16 oz. = 1 pound
  • 14 lbs. = 1 stone (more common in the UK and among older people here in Aus but somehow never quite caught on in the US)
  • 32F is freezing point
  • 212F is boiling point

I can never remember the cups-pint-quart-gallon conversion.

Funnily enough, I still like newborn baby weights to be given in lbs and oz. Telling me a baby was nine-and-a-half pounds at birth just sounds so much more impressive than saying 4.31 kgs, though I am slowly coming around.

What say you?

About yewnique

I am a Malaysian-born woman who is married to an Australian and now live in Melbourne, Australia. I am a mother to four children. I home school. I like reading, writing, and cooking -- not necessarily in that order. I care about grammar and spelling, but am nonchalant about the Oxford Comma. I try to follow Christ's teachings.

Posted on Sunday, January 12th, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.