Always Be Prepared…

Those of you who have been following my blog and have been reading my posts on Creation/Evolution will know that I am a Christian who accepts the Theory of Evolution. What few people may realise is that it is only on my blog that I state this openly; I rarely am this open in real life. Then again, real life seldom affords opportunities where one needs to state one’s beliefs with regards to evolution.

The pastor at our church has been doing a series on ‘Sharing Our Faith’ on Sunday mornings with a more in-depth study on Tuesday evenings at the church. Usually, Bible Studies are held in people’s homes, but for this series they are at the church. Since my two daughters go for Girls’ Brigade on Tuesday evenings, I thought it would be good to join the Bible Studies. (GB is obviously ‘unbiblical’ because it is an age-segregated, gender-segregated activity!)

Last week’s study was on ‘Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect.’ (1 Peter 3:15)

We split up into groups and tackled some of the common questions/challenges that non-believers/non-Christians may have.

Our group was assigned questions 7, 8, and if we had time, question number 1. I hoped to get through the discussion quickly and tackle Question #1 because it was ‘What about evolution?’ Furthermore, I had to leave the Bible Study before the session was up because I needed to pick up one of my daughters from Girls’ Brigade.

There was space under the question to write down some thoughts. I wasn’t sure how it was going to be received by the rest of the group, but I wanted the chance to read it out loud to them.

The minutes ticked along and we were quite involved discussing Questions 7 and 8. Finally, finally, we got to Question 1 and, would you believe it, I had to go. So, I made my apologies and said, ‘…but I would like to read what I’ve written down: I do not believe that the gospel message is in conflict with the theory of evolution.’

To my pleasant surprise, everyone in the group (four of them), agreed with me! One even said, as I gathered up my things, that he had an article which showed how NOT believing in evolution is anti-Christian.

I look forward to reading that article.

Posted on Saturday, June 14th, 2014, in Bible, Christian Living, Evolution, Religion, Science. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

