“I Cannot Come”

Dr Deborah Haarsma of BioLogos recently went to bat for Dr Hugh Ross when Mr Ken Ham criticised him. Dr Haarsma then invited Mr Ham to join her and Dr Ross for dinner. Readers can leave comments on the blog. One can also leave comments on their Facebook page here.

Mr Ham’s response is on his blog here. Mr Ham does NOT allow readers to leave comments. However, he has also posted about it on his Facebook page where people can comment.

 “We have written a number of articles on the AiG website to warn people that compromising God’s Word in Genesis is an authority issue, a gospel issue, and, indirectly, a salvation issue.”

So, there you have it. Belief in Young-Earth Creationism IS a salvation issue after all! Thanks for clearing that up, Mr Ham!

No, I did not miss the preceding ten-letter adverb indirectly. When you think about it, everything ultimately is a salvation issue. Everything will either draw you closer to God, or draw you further away. The question isn’t “Is ‘x’ a salvation issue?” but rather, “How much of a salvation issue is it?” In this case, young-Earth Creationism ranks quite high on Mr Ham’s Salvific Index (SI).

We at AiG are busy “rebuilding a wall.” We are equipping God’s people to defend the Christian faith, and I believe we are doing a great work for God. We are busy being “watchmen”—warning people of those who undermine the authority of the Word of God. Now, of course, I don’t consider Dr. Ross a personal enemy (as Nehemiah considered some of his detractors)—he is actually a pleasant person. But he is what I would call an enemy of biblical authority. He already knows our views, and we know his.

Ken Ham’s response to the dinner invitation? Well, I was reminded of the song, “I Cannot Come” which I learned years ago. I’ve re-written it with different lyrics.

CHORUS:
I cannot come.
I cannot come to the dinner,
Don’t trouble me now.
I am building a wall,
I am keeping my vow.
I must hold to the Bible,
I will not succumb.
Pray, don’t change my mind,
I cannot come.

VERSE 1:
A certain man had a site
Where he taught from God’s Word.
To those who disagreed,
He called them all absurd.
“Compromising Christians,”
Is what they all read.
But when they asked to dine with him,
This is what he said:

CHORUS:
“I cannot come.
I cannot come to the dinner,
Don’t trouble me now.
I am building a wall,
I am keeping my vow.
I must hold to the Bible,
I will not succumb.
Pray, don’t change my mind,
I cannot come.”

VERSE 2:
“God has told us very clearly
How the world we see was made.
He made it all in six days,
By that I won’t be swayed.
I must work to warn others
Not to compromise His Way.
To enemies of His Word,
This is what I say:”

CHORUS

VERSE 3:
“‘Millions of years’ is the Big Lie
Satan wants us to believe.
We must stand firm on the truth
Though he tries hard to deceive.
To be sure, far more dangerous
Are those who claim to follow God
Yet believe in an old earth.
Indeed it’s very odd!”

CHORUS

VERSE 4:
“When my days on earth are over
And I go to meet my Lord.
I am sure He’ll say to me,
‘Child, come to your reward!’
Be encouraged, dear believers!
When sheep-clothed wolves come your way.
If get asked to dinner,
Be certain that you say:”

CHORUS

Posted on Thursday, October 16th, 2014, in Answers in Genesis, Bible, Blog, Christian Living, Creation vs Evolution, Evolution, Facebook, Fundamentalism, Theistic Evolution, Young Earth Creationism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

