Summary Saturday: Old School Friends Again and First Week of School

I had another meet-up with my former school mates this week. Some were at the meet-up last week, but tonight another school mate — someone I haven’t seen in 25 years — joined us, so it was a very nice catch-up session. The members of the Husbands of Assuntarians Club sat around and…actually, I’m not entirely sure what they did, but it was very loud and noisy — probably to overcome our levels.

One of my former schoolmates who went to study in Queensland ended up marrying a guy from Melbourne, who so happens to be someone Mr Yewnique and I knew at university. It is a small world.

I’m not one to take a lot of photos. I have a lot of good intentions to take photos, but I often do not because:

I am a lousy photographer. I know, these days, with the option to delete, this is really not an excuse. Just take lots and surely some will turn out okay. However, sometimes if you miss the moment, you’ve missed your moment. Too bad.

I am not photogenic. I greatly dislike the way I look in photos and try to avoid being in them if I can.

I don’t take good photos and I don’t look good in photos.

So I did not take any photos tonight, but a couple of others did and due to the wonders of modern technology the photos can be – and have been – uploaded and shared on social media. And, also due to the wonders of modern technology, several people from different countries have viewed the photo and left comments.

One former classmate saw the photo and shared how she had two meet-ups with a couple of our classmates and both times failed to take photos, stating the reason as ‘Too absorbed in chatting and none of us are photo people’. That resonated with me, but almost immediately, I realised that that could just as easily have been our situation as well. I was suddenly very thankful that we had taken a picture even if the results weren’t very flattering (I’m talking about myself here). Better a less-than-ideal photo than none at all.

Our first week of school was a light-load attempt at easing into a routine.

A couple of years ago, I picked up this series on Australian history:

Australian History Series

 

We are reading The First Fleet and Year of Settlement and the crew have just left Rio de Janeiro and are on their way to Cape Town. I am amazed when I think of travelling by ship in those conditions, and making a stopover in Rio de Janeiro seems so counter-intuitive to me.

Miss Eight showed her OCD side when she refused to start a new maths drill sheet on Friday – I only require her to do one page a day – because that would mean ending the week with the other side undone! Five days in one week means five pages, or two and a half sheets. I explained that by the end of the fortnight, she would have done five complete sheets and wouldn’t that be lovely? No deal. In the end, we got around it by rolling dice and multiplying the numbers up. She ended up doing more problems that way than doing a drill sheet. Win/win.

The two Yewnique boys are away this week for a Boys’ Brigade camp, so it’s gonna be very quiet around here this coming week.

 

Posted on Saturday, January 10th, 2015, in Education, Family, Life, Parenting, Summary Saturday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

