Foodful Friday: Ginger Garlic Baked Chicken

Got the recipe from here. I tweaked it a bit.

Ingredients:

  • 2 kgs chicken drumsticks
  • 2 Tbsp. ginger-garlic paste
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • 1/2 Tbsp. oyster sauce
  • 1 Tbsp. honey
  • 1 tsp. sesame oil
  • 3 heavy dashes white pepper (or to taste)
  • Pinch of Chinese five-spice powder (optional)

Method:

  1. Place chicken in baking dish. Gently rub the ginger-garlic paste onto the chicken. Mix the rest of the ingredients in a bowl, stir to combine evenly. Pour over chicken drumsticks  and stir until the drumsticks are nicely coated with all the ingredients.
    Set aside to marinate for 30 minutes.
  2.  Pre-heat the oven to 180C. Place baking tray in the middle of the oven and bake for 20-25 minutes or until the surface turn golden brown and charred. Serve warm.

What I was aiming for (pic from here):

What I got:

2015-01-09 18.23.50

Nailed it? Close enough? Missing sesame seeds and coriander leaf garnish, I know.

 

About yewnique

I am a Malaysian-born woman who is married to an Australian and now live in Melbourne, Australia. I am a mother to four children. I home school. I like reading, writing, and cooking -- not necessarily in that order. I care about grammar and spelling, but am nonchalant about the Oxford Comma. I try to follow Christ's teachings.

Posted on Friday, January 30th, 2015, in Cooking, Food, Mains, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

