Little Athletics Presentation 2016/17 Season

This has been sitting in my Drafts folder for almost a month! Yikes!

As followers of my blog know, we have been involved with our local Little Athletics club for over ten years now. I put my older children in because I am not sporty in any way, shape, or form so I needed to outsource their physical education.

This season, Mark was once again the President of the club, and I was once again the Results Input person. Our older son served as a General Committee member and our older daughter helped out with entering the sprint results electronically.

Our younger son competed in the U15 age group. I think he only missed one week of competition when he was away at a Boys’ Brigade camp, so he had an almost perfect attendance. That, coupled with the fact that when he was present at Little Aths he competed in every single event, earned him the most points for his age group and he was awarded First Place for the U15 Boys.

Our younger daughter decided not to continue with Little Athletics, turning her time, energy, and focus instead to dancing. My husband predicted that the day would come when she would choose to give up Little Athletics but it was still a bittersweet moment for me. Several times over the season I asked whether she was sure, and each time she assured me she was. “No regrets?” I asked. “No regrets,” she said, firmly.

Benjamin is entitled to compete for another year as an U16; he may or may not continue this coming season, he’s not sure yet. Nevertheless, the rest of us have decided to step down from our various positions.

We’ve had a good experience with the club and, as Life Members, it is not good-bye. We will definitely be in touch and be kept in the know with the club’s events and happenings.

Posted on Sunday, April 23rd, 2017, in Family, Fun, Life, Sports and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.

