Yam Cake

Yam Cake is a popular Malaysian kuih.

The cookbooks I have specify slaked lime as one of the ingredients. Not knowing where I can possibly find this, I decided to look for a recipe that doesn’t require this.

Yam Cake Recipe

I was a bit disappointed at the amount it yielded.  I imagined a much larger result.  As it was, I put the ‘batter’ in a 9-in. x 9-in. cake tin and steamed it.

Yam Cake

Yam Cake

 

If you don’t have a Chinese rice bowl (like the recipe calls for), you can use a metric cup.  It’s about the same.

 

About yewnique

I am a Malaysian-born woman who is married to an Australian and now live in Melbourne, Australia. I am a mother to four children. I home school. I like reading, writing, and cooking -- not necessarily in that order. I care about grammar and spelling, but am nonchalant about the Oxford Comma. I try to follow Christ's teachings.

Posted on Saturday, July 14th, 2012, in Cooking, Food, Malaysia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.