Chinese Barbecue Pork (Char Siu)

Ingredients

  • 2 x 375g (12 oz) lean pork fillets
  • ¼ cup soy sauce
  • 2 Tbsp.  dry red wine
  • 1 Tbsp. honey
  • 1 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • 2 tsp. red food colouring
  • 1 clove garlic
  • ½ tsp. cinnamon

Method

  1. Combine all ingredients (except pork) in large bowl.
  2. Add pork, cover and refrigerate overnight.
  3. Drain pork from marinade.  Put pork on wire rack over baking dish.
  4. Bake in moderate oven 30 minutes, turning frequently with tongs and basting with marinade. Take care not to overcook, otherwise the end result will may be too dry.
  5. Remove from oven, put on board and allow to cool. Cut pork into diagonal slices and serve.

Char Siu Marinading

Homemade  Chinese BBQ Pork (Char Siu)

Enjoy!

About yewnique

I am a Malaysian-born woman who is married to an Australian and now live in Melbourne, Australia. I am a mother to four children. I home school. I like reading, writing, and cooking -- not necessarily in that order. I care about grammar and spelling, but am nonchalant about the Oxford Comma. I try to follow Christ's teachings.

Posted on Sunday, February 10th, 2013, in Cooking, Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.