Chicken and Chorizo Jambalaya

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 4-6 chicken fillets, chopped
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 cup green beans
  • 4 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 150g chorizo, sliced
  • 1 tbsp Cajun seasoning (or to taste)
  • 500g long grain rice
  • 4 tomatoes, chopped
  • 700ml chicken stock

Method

  1.  Heat oil in a large heavy-based frying pan/French oven and brown the chicken for 5-8 minutes until golden. Remove and set aside.
  2. Put in the onion and cook for 3-4 minutes until soft.
  3. Add the green beans, garlic, chorizo and Cajun seasoning, and cook for 5 minutes more.
  4. Stir the chicken back in.  Add rice, tomatoes and stock. Stir until even.
  5. Cover and simmer for 20-25 minutes until the moisture is absorbed and the rice is tender.
Chicken and Chorizo Jambalaya

Chicken and Chorizo Jambalaya

I served it with a green salad and garlic bread.

Chicken and Chorizo Jambalaya with Salad and Garlic Bread

This recipe fed our family of six with almost NO leftovers.

About yewnique

I am a Malaysian-born woman who is married to an Australian and now live in Melbourne, Australia. I am a mother to four children. I home school. I like reading, writing, and cooking -- not necessarily in that order. I care about grammar and spelling, but am nonchalant about the Oxford Comma. I try to follow Christ's teachings.

Posted on Thursday, January 31st, 2013, in Cooking, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Go ahead. Tell me your thoughts.